It’s Not You, Europe; It’s Me…

Posted on Updated on

Student protest in Rome
Student protest in Rome

Rome was grey and rainy this morning, and I figured I’d stay in and do some reading, a certain mental preparation for tomorrow’s trip. I feel as if my brain has been detached from my body lately. My legs wonder among the ruins of this ancient civilization, but my mind is deeply rooted in the present. I feel guilty for lack of emotion, for being unimpressed by the Western world. I don’t mean to sound like a spoiled child who won’t play with old toys. I just don’t want to play altogether. There is so much gruesome, unfair stuff in our time, that this game of going new places and seeking visually appealing things, to be preserved on postcard-like snapshots, posted on social networking sites, seems so out of touch.

I don’t mean to sound negative. People need to travel, by all means; traveling has a great capacity of expanding one’s worldview. I think I’m just a bit too disillusioned to enjoy the touristy things. On the other hand, I am happy to have visited a dear friend. Those are people, not places, that make life beautiful.

* * *

I leaned out of the window and watched the students march against education reforms as I was writing this. It reminded me of taking to the streets on any more or less plausible occasion during college days, protesting government corruption, freedom of speech impediments and rigged elections… I guess I do miss the good old Europe sometimes. I miss it in a strangely cold, heartless way, however. It could be because my heart is in Africa.

2 thoughts on “It’s Not You, Europe; It’s Me…

    Deepak Acharya said:
    October 29, 2008 at 6:45 am

    You are true that people need to travel. Traveling has a great capacity of expanding one’s worldview. But not everyone can be so lucky as you. Becasue travelling depends on a lot of factors like time, money etc etc…

    Jules responded:
    October 29, 2008 at 8:38 am

    I know, and I have probably sounded unappreciative of what I have. I don’t really have much, I am broke, but I have my freedom at the moment, and friends who are amazingly real, and kind, and truly happy to have me over, and that is something that makes me feel like that is all I really need, you know?

    It might be because so many things have gone wrong in my life lately that I haven’t been able to fully enjoy this trip. It might be also because I can’t wait to apply myself to something good, that I’m looking forward to Kenya so impatiently.

Leave a Reply

