Africa: The Serengeti

Posted on Updated on

“There is a place on Earth where it is still the morning of life and the great herds still run free,” – Africa: The Serengeti.

I think this documentary is the type you should be watching on a big screen to truly appreciate the majestic beauty it portrays. The computer screen doesn’t do it justice, and probably neither would the TV. If wildlife amazes you, you’ll be glued to whichever screen it is, though. The dramatic narration by James Earl Jones (yep, the Darth Vader guy), great score by Hans Zimmer and George Cadebe, and top-notch camera work take it a step up from what you normally see on National Geographic. The wide-angle aerial shots of thousands of animals traveling north through the plains of Tanzania and Kenya, raising clouds of dust in the bright red of the sunset, fighting nature and predators, and nurturing their young ones, are stunning.

“There’s neither malice nor remorse on the Serengeti. A hunter kills to eat and to feed its own, nothing more.”

The circle of life is depicted here in much detail, so some scenes might not be for the faint of heart.

I was thrown back a little when the Maasai scene came up, since the rest of the documentary is about wildlife. I think I understand the reasoning behind it, Maasai being an integral part of the Serengeti. Still, among the scenes of wildebeest crossing the river and a lioness tearing apart a zebra, a human plot twist just doesn’t seem right.

Overall, if you are passionate about wildlife, “Africa: The Serengeti” will be the 40 minutes well spent.

3 thoughts on “Africa: The Serengeti

    Rick Boyer said:
    October 29, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Hello.

    I like your site and wanted to know if you would be interested in exchanging blogroll links.

    Thanks in advance

    Deepak Acharya said:
    October 30, 2008 at 5:01 am

    Thanks for the info….Actually I have seen only one movie regarding wildlife of Africa and that is “I Dreamed of Africa.”

    Jules responded:
    October 30, 2008 at 8:59 am

    You know, that movie was on my “to see” list before I left, but I never found time. I got the “I dreamed of Africa” book in my backpack right now though, started reading, will let you know how I like it once I’m done.

Leave a Reply

